Opposite Action Plays

Indianapolis Colts -4.5

Posted : February 7, 2010 11:57 am
(@blade)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter

Al DeMarco

15 Dime - Indianapolis Colts

Experience. It's the factor that means the most to me when breaking down this game.

If you watched my video today, I hit you with lots of trends and stats pertaining to both teams and the Super Bowl itself. But the one that matters the most is this:

Teams making their Super Bowl debut against an experienced
title game opponent are 6-11 ATS.

Before I got into this business I used to be a sports journalist and time after time you'd hear about how teams didn't handle the bye week between the Conference Championships and the title game that well, how they struggled with preparation schedules while inexperienced coaches called others in their ranks for tips and advice. You'd see how the players had to deal with off-field distractions in various cities - which I personally believe were more prevalent in years past - and family situations (arranging for tickets for family and friends, arranging travel, etc.). With the explosion of the national media coverage over the past 15 years, the so-called "media-circus" has increased as well.

For those reasons above, and so many more, I simply like the Colts, who beat the Bears on this same field in Miami three Super Bowls ago. Think about this: 25 members of that title-winning team are still on this year's roster. Conversely, the Saints have a total of three players with Super Bowl experience.

At this point some of you might be asking yourself, "what about Arizona last year?" True, the Cardinals were a first-timer and they nearly beat the Steelers while easily getting the cover. But keep in mind they had a Super Bowl-winning veteran at quarterback in Kurt Warner. And his calming influence and experience was the difference in my book.